Shetland Wool Week 2023

It’s the first of July! Pinch and punch and all that. Can you believe we’re already talking about Shetland Wool Week? Well, bookings for this years event went live this week so of course we’re talking about it.

2022 saw my first ever visit to this iconic festival which I LOVED so I’m very proud and happy to have been invited back to teach this year. It’s inspiring that while Shetland Wool Week is renowned for celebrating the islands’ rich textile heritage the organisers are also looking to embrace tutors from outwith Shetland. This helps to ensure there’s an evolving schedule of classes, talks, demonstrations and meetups that will appeal to all types of crafters and artisans. 

This year I’m teaching two full day workshops at Islesburgh Community Centre, Lerwick-

Introduction to Beaded Colourwork on Wednesday 26th September.

And Sew Pretty: Introduction to Embroidery for Knit and Crochet on Thursday 27th September.

I’ll also be co-teaching  a very special workshop on Tuesday 25th September alongside my beautiful friend Felicity (Felix) Ford aka Knitsonik. The picture below shows why we were both asked to be model.

We’ve called it Colourwork Two Ways: An Adventure in Oddments and Beads as it brings together Felix’s love of stranded colourwork and my passion for beaded colourwork. This is a truly unique exploration of the different creative possibilities of working colourwork charts in yarn oddments or with beads. 


Bookings for all this year’s Shetland Wool Week events launched on June 27th, and tickets sell out fast. That means you need to visit the Shetland Wool Week Box Office quickly to avoid disappointment. 

If you’ve never travelled to up to the Shetland’s mainland, believe me, it’s one of the most stunningly beautiful places I’ve EVER visited. Lying 100 miles off the north east coast of Scotland, for me, its remoteness only added to the wonderful sense of peace I felt during my two week stay. I was lucky to be staying in Hoswick, home to the studio of my brilliant friend, knitwear designer Neila Nell Kalra who invited me to stay in her guest cottage (which I’ve since re-named Sloan Cottage).

I know what you’re thinking, if Shetland Wool Week only lasts a week, what was I doing there so long? Well being the sort of designer who wanted to showcase her knitwear on ‘real’ people, Niela invited both me and Felix to model for her alongside other members of the Nielanell family and friends who lived locally. The shoot took just two days but during that time we packed in so many changes of outfit and this is thanks to the exceptional production skills of Astrid Johnston and Gail Turpin who made sure there was a constant flow of perfectly prepared models for photographer Austin Taylor to shoot.

As I promised to publish my Shetland pics I won’t ramble on here, I’ll just let you see what we got up to. (Note the picture of me fangirling with legendary Shetland knitter Hazel Tindall).

I also help out Niela’s right hand woman, Katie Leask, when setting up the company display at the Saturday Maker’s Market. As it turns out, it was good practice as I’ll be showing there myself this year.

Don’t forget, if you want to grab a place on my, Felix’s or anyone else’s classes or talks at this year’s Wool Week you’d better be quick as some have already sold out.

Click here to book your events on the Shetland Wool Week site. Till next time, happy crafting,

J x

One thought on “Shetland Wool Week 2023

  1. Alicia Marguerite

    Thank you for chatting to me at the SYF on Saturday about mad choices for first knits – the Lowry picture cardigan and the lace jumper for my sister. I’m delighted to have found your blog. All the best for SWW this month x

Leave a comment