The Crafties – I’ve been nominated!

The Crafties 2019 - Vote for me

 

Yes I’m still here, I bet you thought I’d forgotten about this wee blog. To be honest there’s been so happening since I started talking and writing about the lack of BIPOC representation in the fibre community that the last 12 months have literally flown past.

Now having successfully Crowfunded for BIPOC in Fiber (thank you to everyone who gave their support) work on the website can begin and along with the rest of the team we can continue promoting the work of black, indigenous and people of colour whatever their craft discipline. Way back in 2018 (it seems much further back than just last year) this really wasn’t what I’d envisaged when I created the POC Designers & Crafter List. I just wanted to do something that would have a positive effect on an industry and community that needed to be more truly representative of all and, as it as just a list, it seemed simple enough to do. Fast forward a year and it turns out what I originally saw as a small gesture has had a positive effect along with the work of many other BIPOC voices. At last we’re now seeing a greater BIPOC presence designing, vending, writing and teaching in magazines, online publications and at fibre festivals. Along with my other writing and designs (I think people sometimes forget I’m also a designer)  the work I’ve been doing has got me nominated for a blog award.

The Crafties are LoveCrafts’ Blogger Awards and I’ve been nominated in the  Noteworthy Knitter Blog Award, 2019. If you regularly read this blog or follow me on Instagram you’ll know I’m not someone who tends to pat themselves on the back. You’ll also know I don’t post as often as I’d like but I am passionate about what I’m currently doing as it helps to focus more attention on the work of BIPOC in the fibre industry. And for that I’m happy to be nominated…. but of course I’d be even happier to win.

If you’d like to, you can vote for me by popping over to the LoveCrafts blog where you’ll find more details of how to cast your vote. You’ll find the page here.

Voting opens 1st November 2019 at 17:00 GMT / 10:00 PST / 13:00 EST

Voting closes 18th November 2019 at 17:00 GMT / 10:00 PST /13:00 EST

The winners will be announced 2nd December at 17:00 GMT / 10:00 PST / 13:00 EST

Wish me luck

J x

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s