In a strange place

fullsizeoutput_ae2

This time last week I was one thousand miles away basking in the heat of the Corsican sun enjoying a much longed for holiday. Today however although I’m back home and on much more familiar turf, mentally I’m in a very strange place. I suppose it’s only natural to feel a little deflated when you come back off holiday but I’m really struggling to lift my mood, it could be the lack of sunshine…or heat….or that illuminated salt water swimming pool I’d got just a little to used to.

Alternatively it could simply be due to the fact that even 2 years after my op my post craniotomy brain dictates more than ever whether or not I can focus enough to work. This week it’s been ‘or not’. With a brief break for Tuesday night’s Stitch & Bitch I’ve been in a ‘pre migraine’ state since Monday morning which has made me touchy, anxious, achy and low. I’ve had to accept that the project I’d planned to knit on holiday just didn’t get done …..and you know what, that doesn’t matter. Instead I’m going to let myself off the spinning classes I didn’t do this week and allow my brain to do what it needs to come back to ‘normal’.

Whatever that is.

I’m hoping the re-set will happen by Monday as I’ve got quite a lot of knitting and writing to do. In the meantime I’ll chug along with the sock I’m knitting and catch up on some good drama on the iPlayer. Just as well it’s Slow Fashion October.

fullsizeoutput_ad7

Sorry for the whinge hope your week’s been better

J x

2 thoughts on “In a strange place

  1. Strangely, I’m having a not being able to focus day. Thankfully no pre-migraine symptoms which are so damn annoying and so frustrating when you have things to do. I hope that rest and some glowing autumn sunshine will lift your spirits. I can also highly recommend a book called Wabi Sabi by Beth Kempton – it’s a bit of a best seller at the moment, but great on self care and exploring the lessons of nature. Also Self Care in the Real World – Nadia and Katia Narain.
    Big love xxx

    1. Thank you my beautiful friend. I’ll check those out after I’ve been due a walk along the seafront – hopefully that will sort me out. I hope your focus mojo returns soon too. Sending lots of love, J 😘😘x

Leave a comment