Brighton, sheep AND twitter?!

I have to admit that although I’ve lived in the Patcham area of Brighton for 2 years now and whilst I’ve made good friends, great apple chutney and questionable homemade cider I’ve never made time to read the local free magazine ‘The Post’. It comes through the letterbox monthly and I generally look at it for as long as it takes to put it straight in the recycling box (I know, sorry!).

I was about to do just that last night when, whilst flicking through the pages, I came across a piece by Caroline Donovan entitled ‘Watching Our Flocks’. Caroline is one of a team of volunteer ‘lookerers’ who help out with the sheep brought in to conservation graze the downland managed by Brighton and Hove City Council. I know that Brighton and Hove has a reputation for being ridiculously ‘hippy’ but the practice isn’t a new one. The sheep (in this case Herdwick) are brought down from hill farms up north to graze the council managed downland and it’s their grazing and general to-ing & fro-ing (not to mention the obvious brown coloured organic benefits  – I mean poo of course ) which prevents the land reverting to scrub with a loss of the various dependant wildflowers and insects. The sheep will be grazing various sites around the city until late Spring and I’ll hopefully catch a glimpse of them when we get up onto The Downs for a walk. In the meantime I’ve decided to follow their adventures on Twitter ( @BHSheep), yes they have their own account.

Conservation grazing sheep on Twitter, how very Brighton.

Leave a Reply

