Cul de sac

31 Day Challenge Day 18

img_3147

You know when you start the day with a set plan in mind and the knitting gods gently intervene? Well yesterday was one of those days. Having got some design admin out of the way I’d planned to have a play with John Arbon’s Alpaca Delight for a lacy one hank design idea. With an overall shape in mind I found a stitch pattern that might prove a great starting point for swatching and gathered needles, yarn, sketchbook and graph paper to go and knit in front of the fire. And that’s when I saw it….. Sam’s hat….. STILL unfinished…..at the bottom of my knitting bag. How did I miss that?! After all, the bag’s really not that big. But somehow, like the wardrobe through which Edmund, Lucy, Peter and Susan were transported into Narnia, it seems to have developed secret dark corners where a partly finished chunky hat could get completely lost.

I know I could have just made my excuses and consigned it to a pile of other WIPs but having caused me to forget it in the first place my new brain now gets wobblier if I don’t finish one thing before starting another. So, here I am nearing the end of the hat, for me, the only way out of this particular knitting cul de sac

J x

Leave a Reply

