Following the Ear worm

31 Day Challenge Day 10

This morning I awoke to the sounds of McFadden & Whitehead’s ‘Ain’t No Stopping Us Now’ bouncing around my head. Now for those of you who don’t know an ear worm according to Wikipedia is;

‘sometimes known as a brainworm, sticky music, or stuck song syndrome, is a catchy piece of music that continually repeats through a person’s mind after it is no longer playing. Phrases used to describe an earworm include “musical imagery repetition”, “involuntary musical imagery”, and “stuck song syndrome”.

I’m not sure how my newly challenged brain managed to plucked this particular piece of music from my childhood memories after all I haven’t heard it in ages. But I remember it had anthemic status in our house and we used to dance around the front room as the 12 inch version played endlessly on the record player. My big brother Wayne was an avid clubber back in the late 70’s and early 80’s and although I was far too young and annoying a little sister for him to hang out with I loved seeing and listening to his most recent record purchases. Among them was Space Invaders by the Yellow Magic Orchestra (which I think appropriately was on yellow vinyl https://youtu.be/OkkFST5qrLg), Can You Feel The Force by The Real Thing (which I thought was red vinyl https://youtu.be/MYMMfaxruGA) and Stomp by The Brothers Johnson (can’t remember the colour but who cares https://youtu.be/Ug4bV013KEk).

When checking the realease date of ‘Ain’t No Stopping..’ I was really sad to read that one half of the partenership John Whitehead died in 2011 after being fatally shot in Phillidelphia, USA. He and Gene McFadden were more than just one hit wonders and in fact wrote several hit songs for other artists including ‘Back Stabbers’, ‘For The Love Of Money’ and ‘Wake Up Everybody’ to name just a few. So today, in tribute, I’m going to follow the ear worm and listen to a few of John McFadden’s best tunes whilst I work on some charts, starting with this

See you tomorrow

J x

 

Leave a Reply

