Yarn review – findihed

 

img_3046

31 Day Challenge Day 4

Having surgery to most parts of your body means you’ll experience varying degrees of pain and/or stiffness for an expected period of time. It hurt when I broke my left (I was giving a male friend a piggyback, not a good move) but not as much as you’d expect. It was a bad break which required surgery but I knew my leg would be in plaster for 6 weeks and with the help of physio and gentle exercise it’s been pretty trouble free ever since. I’ve had other procedures including two mastectomies and two breast reconstructions but again, the pain wasn’t unbearable and, having been through it once, I knew what to expect from my recovery the second time around. Having brain surgery however has been an entirely different experience and the recovery is like an uncharted path that I’m still feeling my way through.

For a start it really doesn’t hurt as much as you’d imagine. Until my neurosurgeon told me, I had no idea that there are no pain receptors in the actual brain, it’s the bits around it (scalp, skull, meninges?) that feel pain and thankfully paracetamol can deal with that. Unlike a broken leg however, no one will tell you exactly how long the recovery from brain surgery will be. ‘Up to a year’ I was told but that gives no indication of how it will progress, the what to expect, how bad or good and when. Just as everyone’s tumour size, location and symptoms differ so does the recovery so I’m having to learn to just go along with the flow – not something I’d previously been used to as my husband Sam will agree.

Everyday chores like housework seem to be no problem although I do occasionally still find myself spinning around dervish-style in the kitchen trying to find the teaspoons when I’m making a cup of tea. You’ll also know, if you follow me on Instagram that I have no problem eating or cooking. Yes I’ve posted lots more pictures of food than knitting but I’ve found the process of cooking really therapeutic whilst knitting, although there was some, still had connotations of work and that meant pressure, deadlines and stress.

Yesterday saw me back at my desk writing a yarn review for Knitting Magazine and although it’s pretty much ready to send it’s taken much longer than it used to. Aside from having problems focusing on anything I’m reading and maintaining concentration the message being sent from my brain to my fingers often gets corrupted and can often read like gibberish. Want an exapmple? See if you can read this…

so when I mean to typr one thins I actually end up wrtigin words that abslutly make no sense that the autocorrect in Word won’t pick up.

It can be frustrating aat times (sometimes when I re-read things not even I know hat I was taking about) and it may not b recovery just part of my ‘new normal’ but I’m learning to accept it. After all, my job involves knitting some of the most gorgeous yarns a knitter could wish to drool over, then I get to write about them. April’s yarn review is indeed finished. Just excuse any gibberish that may have slipped through the net…

Leave a Reply

