Knitting Masterclass Giveaway

Image

I was very flattered back in 2008 when I was asked to be one of the first designers to design for The Knitter which was first published in January 2009. Fast forward to 2013 and a few of my own designs later The Knitter have recently published Knitting Masterclass. It’s an inspiring collection of 20 technical workshops exploring techniques such as Double Knitting, Steeking, Combination Knitting and Lace. The techniques are brilliantly explained with clear instructions and helpful step-by-step photography which means you don’t need to feel intimidated by learning something new. As well as the workshops the book also includes 15 beautiful patterns which allow you to try out your newly acquired skills including my own Baird, a chunky cabled neckwarmer which is grafted at the centre and follows the Kitchener Stitch masterclass.

Image

I’ve got 2 copies of this must have book to give away to 2 lucky knitters. All you have to do to win a copy is post a comment on this blog telling me which technique you’ve always wanted to master and why. Simple as that! Comments are open to posting until midnight March 31st 2013. Only one entry per person please (to make things fair). There are 2 copies to be won (one per winner) and entries are open worldwide. The winners will be chosen at random and will be informed shortly after the closure date.

Good Luck!

Knitting Masterclass

Edited by Juliet Bernard 

Published by Collins & Brown

RRP £20.00

ISBN: 978-1908449023

PLEASE NOTE THAT COMMENTS TO THIS POST ARE NOW CLOSED

23 thoughts on “Knitting Masterclass Giveaway

  1. Double knitting has always fascinated me, and that would be the first section I turn to with needles in hand. Thanks!

  2. I first attempted Double Knitting at Meg Swansen’s Camp. The squirrel I created was a sad little fellow! I’d like to tackle this technique once more, having seen gorgeous finished objects on Ravelry. The Master Class book would be such a boon!

  3. Hi I would love to master steeking it looks brilliant but I think you have to be really brave to do it
    Hope I get lucky
    Dawn

  4. I hate being first to post – I always think 1 will never come up randomly which is utter rubbish!

    I think my next challenge is mastering kitchener stitch. Once you are confident with it you have a true understanding of how knitted fabric is constructed.

    I should say steeking but I am too scared!

    Thanks for hosting a great giveaway.

  5. I’d love to learn the Double Knitting technique. I think a double-knit scarf would be great to keep out those Edinburgh winds – you know what I mean, Jeanette! Looks a brilliant book.

  6. I’d love to learn to steek. I adore Fair Isle knits and they would be so much quicker knitted in the round, but cutting my work horrifies me!
    lindarumsey on Ravlery

  7. Cutting your work is quite liberating once you see the end results, fairisle is so beautiful when done traditionally; it also helps if you have a glass of wine or G+T to hand in case it’s all too scary! I am fascinated by learning new techniques and would love to master kitchener stitch

  8. Would love to have the cold hard nerve to steek…. But EEK!! The thought of it brings me out in a cold sweat, and a mad rush of blood to the head :-))

  9. I would love to know more about combination knitting because I didn’t know it existed till I read this post and googled it. Looks like it would be an interesting new technique.

  10. What a great Idea keeping all these techniques in one book together!
    I’d love to learn Double Knitting and more than this Fair Isle Knitting and to steek!
    Thank You for sharing Your knowledge!

  11. This book looks fantastic! There are probably lots of others in there too, but one technique I’d love to have a master class on is steeking. I’ve seen people do mind-blowing things with it — steeking the neckline and shoulders of a sweater; turning a pullover into a cardi. And, as a spinner, I’d also use it to make sure the color variations in my handspun yarn line up on both sides!

    1. Steeking would be a great technique to match the fronts knitted in handspun and though I’ve tried in principle on small samples I haven’t used it on a garment. Another technique for the 2013 ‘must do’ list.

  12. This book sounds marvelous! I should really like to learn more about advanced Lace knitting and of course I like to learn more about Fair Isle knitting!!

    Congratulations with this fantastic book and now I keep my fingers crossed, that I maybe am the “lucky one”…. (-:

    Happy knitting!!

  13. Fair Isle knitting is something I’d like to master. I just bought your Dr.s Bag pattern & am a little intimidated to start it.

    1. If I’m honest I actually prefer intarsia to fairisle because I find it easier to keep my tension even and that’s the trick to fairisle. Take your time with the Orient bag and just drop me an email if you need any help.

  14. I would love to learn double knitting! I haven’t done much colorwork, mostly because my tension is so tight, and it seems like double knitting would take care of my problem with tension and create a fabric that’s beautiful on both the right and wrong side.

    1. Double knitting is one of the techniques I’ve promised to try this year too as I like the fact that there’s no wrong side. It would be interesting to see the affect it has too tight tension, I hadn’t thought of using it to control that.

Leave a Reply

